The Luray Valley Museum celebrates the culture and history of the Shenandoah Valley, concentrating on the local Page Valley.
This presentation of thematic elements celebrates our region’s Shenandoah culture. A main building, The Stonyman, displays decorative arts, items of clothing, early toys and artifacts of daily life in chronological delivery from the 1750s to the 1920s. A 1536 Swiss bible, the centerpiece of the collection, connects the history of early settlers to their European culture and search for religious freedom brought to Page County and the Shenandoah Valley. A collection of historic buildings has been restored to represent a small 19th century farming community. The Elk Run Meeting House served as a barracks for Union and Confederate soldiers during the Civil War as attested by the signatures that still scatter the interior. Already complete are Bellview constructed in 1835 and home to the county’s first delegate to the Virginia General Assembly, the circa 1860 Burner Barn and the circa 1900 Hamburg Regular School, a one room black schoolhouse. Today, children can learn the history of gem mining in the region at the gem mining sluice near the Page Valley Mining Company. These join what will eventually be nine structures on the 7 acre site recreating pre-1900 valley life.
10am-530pm (closing hours vary with Cavern hours; see Luray Caverns website at luraycaverns.com)
Admission Fee/Ticket Price:
Entrance fee included in Luray Caverns general admission – Adults: $23; Children (Ages 6–12): $11; Ages 5 and under free when accompanied by a parent or guardian; Senior Citizens (Ages 62+): $21.